This new Routledge collection on the above theme is based on the selected works from one of the Journal’s Associate Editors, Professor Justin Dillon.

Justin writes:

“The invitation to put together this collection arrived while I was working at King’s College London where I expected to see out my academic career. However, some months later, during the extended period when I was gathering the permissions to reproduce the various chapters and papers in this volume, I moved to take up a new post at the University of Bristol. While for some people, moving institutions is normal if not the norm, for me it was very unusual. I started working at King’s in 1989 and left in 2014 – almost 25 years in one institution, and my standard response to questions about ‘moving on’ was ‘But where would I go?’ I have since wondered whether the process of going through my academic life’s work, deciding what stories I wanted to highlight and what I thought I had to say that’s worth reading now, made me more susceptible when Bristol approached me.

“The move from King’s to Bristol has impacted on my research and writing time. Leading a university department is immensely challenging and the learning curve is steep. At this stage in my career I am more likely to be asked to edit individual books or book series, handbooks and encyclopedia. I also find myself being asked to write forewords and editorials. The temptation to say ‘yes’ to opportunities is almost irresistible and I find myself working on a new project – the Routledge Science Education Series, with two good friends, Steve Alsop from York University in Canada and Marianne Achiam from Copenhagen University. While this series is embryonic, another series, with Peter Lang, [Re]thinking Environmental Education is going from strength to strength with contributions from new scholars as well as experienced ones.

“I feel very privileged to have worked with some of the brightest and best science and environmental educators over a number of years. I could not have written most of the contributions in this volume without their influence and ideas. And for that I am truly thankful.”

Find out more at: http://ow.ly/8uqq305gkqq or

https://www.routledge.com/Towards-a-Convergence-Between-Science-and-Environmental-Education-The/Dillon/p/book/9781138844292

One thought on “Start the week by considering the convergence between science and environmental education

Leave a Reply

